National Inventory of Architectural Heritage

Published by: Heritage Council
2 Like
Licensed under: Other (Attribution)
Theme: Economy
Views: 28
Openness rating:
(0 out of 5)

Point feature data represents National Inventory of Architectural Heritage within pilot study area.

The National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH) is a state initiative under the administration of the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government and established on a statutory basis under the provisions of the Architectural Heritage (National Inventory) and Historic Monuments (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1999.

The purpose of the NIAH is to identify, record, and evaluate the post-1700 architectural heritage of Ireland, uniformly and consistently as an aid in the protection and conservation of the built heritage. NIAH surveys provide the basis for the recommendations of the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government to the planning authorities for the inclusion of particular structures in their Record of Protected Structures (RPS).

The published surveys are a source of information on the selected structures for relevant planning authorities. They are also a research and educational resource. It is hoped that the work of the NIAH will increase public awareness and appreciation of Ireland's architectural heritage.

BACKGROUND 1. Granada Convention

The Council of Europe, in Article 2 of the 1985 Convention for the Protection of the Architectural Heritage of Europe (Granada Convention), states that 'for the purpose of precise identification of the monuments, groups of structures and sites to be protected, each member State will undertake to maintain inventories of that architectural heritage.' The Granada Convention emphasises the importance of inventories in underpinning conservation policies.

The NIAH was established in 1990 to fulfill Ireland's obligations under the Granada Convention, through the establishment and maintenance of a central record, documenting and evaluating the architectural heritage of Ireland.

Article 1 of the Granada Convention establishes the parameters of this work by defining 'architectural heritage' under three broad categories of Monument, Groups of Buildings, and Sites.

1.Monument: all buildings and structures of conspicuous historical, archaeological, artistic, scientific, social or technical interest, including their fixtures and fittings; 2.Group of buildings: homogeneous groups of urban or rural buildings conspicuous for their historical, archaeological, artistic, scientific, social or technical interest, which are sufficiently coherent to form topographically definable units; 3.Sites: the combined works of man and nature, being areas which are partially built upon and sufficiently distinctive and homogenous to be topographically definable, and are of conspicuous historical, archaeological, artistic, scientific, social or technical interest. The Council of Europe's definition of architectural heritage allows for the inclusion of structures, groups of structures and sites which are considered to be of significance in their own right, or which are of significance in their local context and environment. The NIAH believes it is important to consider the architectural heritage as encompassing a wide variety of structures and sites as diverse as post boxes, grand country houses, mill complexes and vernacular farmhouses.

Data Resources (1)

available as arcsde connection
Theme Economy
Date dataset updated 2010-11-17
Rights notes ['Seek Permissions', 'Seek Permissions', 'otherRestrictions', 'Seek Permissions', 'otherRestrictions']
Language English
Geographic coverage in GeoJSON format {"type":"Polygon","coordinates":[[[-11.022236, 51.218075],[-11.022236, 53.645273], [-6.039468, 53.645273], [-6.039468, 51.218075], [-11.022236, 51.218075]]]}
Spatial Reference Systems (SRS) TM65 / Irish Grid (EPSG:29902)
Provenance information Data owned and provided by NIAH, Department of Environment, Heritage & Local Government. For further information see; Extracts were taken from NIAH database provided to Heritage Council Coastal Heritage project in June 2010 and converted to esri shapfile.