Municipal Districts - National Statutory Boundaries - Ungeneralised - 2024

Category: Government
Views: 0
Openness rating:

Municipal districts where created under the Local Government Reform Act of 2014 and are subdivisions of local authorities. Municipal districts are comprised of one or more Local Election Areas. Municipal districts are known as Borough Districts in Clonmel, Wexford, Drogheda and Sligo and Metropolitan Districts in Limerick and Waterford. Kilkenny is designated as the Municipal District of Kilkenny. The City councils of Dublin, Cork and Galway as well as Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal, and South Dublin County Councils are not covered by Municipal districts. The current districts, with the exception of Cork, were defined in a series of Local Electoral Areas and Municipal District Orders (Statutory Instruments) in 2018. Municipal Districts for the County Cork are defined in the County of Cork Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order (S.I. No. 28/2019). There are currently 100 Municipal Districts. This dataset is provided by Tailte Éireann

Data Resources (6)

ArcGIS Hub Dataset
ArcGIS GeoService

Data Resource Preview - GeoJSON

Data Owner TailteEireannMapGenie
Data Owner Email
Data Owner Telephone -
Theme Government
Date released 2024-04-03
Date updated 2024-04-03
Language English
Landing page