Townlands - National Statutory Boundaries - Ungeneralised - 2024

Category: Government
Views: 0
Openness rating:

Townlands are the smallest statutory boundary in the country and are based on Gaelic and later Norman and plantation divisions. In general, other territorial divisions are collections of townlands. The 6” survey of Ireland carried out under the 1825 Boundary Survey Act documented and formalised the boundaries of townlands in Ireland. Townlands are statute boundaries under the 19th century Boundary Survey Acts and can only be altered by statutory instrument. This dataset is a digital representation of the statutory boundary as shown on the relevant historic mapping and includes alterations brought about by statutory instruments.There are approximately 50,200 townlands in the Republic of Ireland. This dataset is provided by Tailte Éireann

  • Download

Resource: GeoJSON


This resource view is not available at the moment. Click here for more information.

Download resource

Additional Information

Field Value
Last updated unknown
Created unknown
Format GeoJSON
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0
API response formats
    API type
    API access url