Counties - OSi National Statutory Boundaries

Arna fhoilsiú ag: Ordnance Survey Ireland
10 Cosúil
Téama: Government
Tuairimí: 766
Rátáil oscailteachta:

The division into counties based on the model used in the English system, was introduced gradually by English settlers from the late 12th century onwards. These land divisions were formed following the Norman invasion of Ireland in imitation of the counties then in use as units of local government in the Kingdom of England. The older term "shire" was historically equivalent to "county". The principal function of the county was to impose royal control in the areas of taxation, security and the administration of justice at local level. Following a survey under the 1825 Boundary Survey Act, an extensive series of maps of Ireland was created by the Irish division of the Ordnance Survey for taxation purposes. These maps both documented and standardised the boundaries of the thirty two counties of Ireland.County boundary dataset generated from the 2019 OSi National Statutory Boundary dataset. Ungeneralised.Coordinate Reference System: Irish Transverse Mercator.

Data Resources (6)

ArcGIS Open Dataset
Esri Rest API

Data Resource Preview - GeoJSON

Contact Person OSI Data Contact
Contact Person Email
Contact Person Telephone -
Téama Rialtas
Date dataset released 2019-04-09
Date dataset updated 2019-04-11
Language English
Landing Page

Comments [0 ]

Be the first to comment